

The procedure for canceling the suspension of terms related to the stay and residence of foreign citizens in Russia

"On temporary measures to settle the legal status of foreign citizens and stateless persons in Russia during the period of overcoming the consequences of the spread of a new coronavirus infection (COVID-19)" extended the previously suspended periods related to the stay and residence of foreign citizens on the territory of Russia, namely, they are suspended after 90 days from the date of commencement of transport communication with the corresponding foreign state.

- terms of temporary stay of foreign citizens and stateless persons;
- the terms for which such citizens are registered at the place of stay;
- expiration dates of visas and migration cards with marks put down in it;

- validity periods of temporary residence permits in Russia and residence permits valid as of March 15, 2020;

- within a 6-month period of stay outside Russisa, necessary for the cancellation of the TRP, residence permit or work permit of the HQS.

At the same time, paragraph 6 of the Decree of the President of Russia of June 15, 2021 No. 364 establishes that the list of foreign states in respect of which the temporary restrictions imposed by Russia on transport communications have been lifted (with an indication of the date of removal of such restrictions) is approved by the Government of Russia.

The <u>Order of the Government of Russia dated May 20, 2022 No. 1253-r</u> approved the list of foreign countries for which the temporary restrictions on transport communications imposed by Russia have been lifted (hereinafter referred to as the "List"). The date of removal of such restrictions is the date of inclusion of a foreign state in the List.

On June 6, 2022, the <u>Order of the Government of Russia No. 1454-r</u> came into force, by which the Republic of Armenia and the Kyrgyz Republic were added to the list of such states.

A list of such states with the date of removal of transport restrictions and a link to the regulatory legal act is given below.

State	Date of removal of restrictions	Regulatory act lifting transport restrictions	Date by which permits must be issued or leave Russia
Abkhazia	20.05.2022	Order of the Government of Russia dated May 20, 2022 No. 1253-r	17.08.2022
Belarus	20.05.2022	Order of the Government of Russia dated May 20, 2022 No. 1253-r	17.08.2022



	-		
Donetsk People's Republic	20.05.2022	Order of the Government of Russia dated May 20, 2022 No. 1253-r	17.08.2022
Kazakhstan	20.05.2022	Order of the Government of Russia dated May 20, 2022 No. 1253-r	17.08.2022
China	20.05.2022	Order of the Government of Russia dated May 20, 2022 No. 1253-r	17.08.2022
Luhansk People's Republic	20.05.2022	Order of the Government of Russia dated May 20, 2022 No. 1253-r	17.08.2022
Mongolia	20.05.2022	Order of the Government of Russia dated May 20, 2022 No. 1253-r	17.08.2022
Ukraine	20.05.2022	Order of the Government of Russia dated May 20, 2022 No. 1253-r	17.08.2022
South Ossetia	20.05.2022	Order of the Government of Russia dated May 20, 2022 No. 1253-r	17.08.2022
Republic of Armenia	06.06.2022	Order of the Government of Russia dated June 6, 2022 No. 1454-r	03.09.2022
Kyrgyz Republic	06.06.2022	Order of the Government of Russia dated June 6, 2022 No. 1454-r	03.09.2022

Foreign citizens from the countries included in the List, who do not have legal grounds for being on the territory of Russian, must leave Russia within 90 days from the date of entering the state of their nationality in the List. In case of non-compliance with the specified requirements of the migration legislation, foreign citizens will be held administratively liable in accordance with Article 18.8 of the Code of Administrative Offenses of Russia.

At the same time, on June 16, 2022, the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Russia clarified that the temporary measures introduced by Decree of the President of Russia of June 15, 2021 No. 364 to suspend the duration of the temporary stay of foreigners, the terms of their registration at the place of stay without the need to take actions to extend them, continue to operate.

This suspension is valid until the expiration of 90 days from the date of removal of transport restrictions imposed earlier by Russia on communications with foreign states.

The press center of the Ministry of Internal Affairs explained that citizens of Abkhazia, Belarus, the Donetsk People's Republic, Kazakhstan, China, the Lugansk People's Republic, Mongolia, Ukraine and South Ossetia, who did not receive permits for the right to reside or work in Russia during their temporary stay in Russia, must leave Russia before August 17, 2022. Citizens of



the Republic of Armenia and the Kyrgyz Republic who have not received such documents must leave Russia no later than September 3, 2022.

Meanwhile, as we wrote <u>earlier</u>, the official representative of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Russia, Irina Volk, explained that citizens of Ukraine, the DPR and the LPR have the right to stay in Russia even after August 17, even without permits, they are not threatened with expulsion.

"They will not be subject to measures related to bringing to administrative responsibility for violating the regime of stay and carrying out labor activities in Russia, as well as deportation from Russia and restrictions on entry into Russia," she stressed.

However, please note that no legal acts confirming these words have been published so far.

For this reason, in order to avoid legal consequences, we would not recommend citizens of Ukraine, the DPR and LPR to stay in Russia after August 17 without permits, until the relevant amendments are adopted.

For more information, please contact the consultants of the Confidence Group company.

The texts of the newsletters are intellectual property of Confidence Group, protected by the copyright laws of Russia. The information may not be reproduced in any form whatsoever without linking to this web site or to pages of this website.