

Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia agreed not to allow the entry of Russians with Schengen visas

On September 7, 2022, the three Baltic states came to an agreement to restrict the entry of Russian citizens

Despite the fact that recently the <u>EU foreign ministers failed to reach an agreement on restricting the entry of Russians</u> and stopping the issuance of Schengen visas to them, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, which directly border Russia, are resolving the issue at the level of their states, <u>TASS reports</u> with reference to the Latvian Foreign Ministry.

Latvian Foreign Minister Edgar Rinkevich wrote on his Twitter that Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania have agreed to restrict the movement of Russian citizens across their land borders with Russia and Belarus.

According to Rinkevich, the decisions will be made by national governments in accordance with national procedures and will come into force simultaneously in all three states. It will be officially announced in the coming days.

Exceptions will be made for certain categories of Russian citizens – diplomats, truck drivers, as well as for citizens entering by family and humanitarian purposes.

Source: TASS.

For more information, please contact the consultants of the Confidence Group company.

The texts of the newsletters are intellectual property of Confidence Group, protected by the copyright laws of Russia. The information may not be reproduced in any form whatsoever without linking to this web site or to pages of this website.